Navigation: Home ›  The model ›  Model concept

Model concept

WaSiM is a deterministic spatially distributed hydrological catchment model to simulate the water cycle above and below the land surface.

The model can be used in various spatial and temporal scales. It is able to model hydrologic processes for basins with sizes of <1 km2 up to more than 100,000 km2. Detailed simulations for locations are also possible (e.g. habitats). The temporal resolution of the model ranges from minutes to several days. WaSiM can be used for both short-term (floods) and long-term simulations (long-term water balance simulations).

Depending on the general availability of data and the hydrological problem to be solved, WaSiM allows a selection from several algorithms for the simulation of a specific process. The minimum data requirements for the model are time series of precipitation and temperature, as well as raster data for topography, land use and soil properties.

WaSiM used physically based modelling approaches appropriate for the selected space and time scales. Wherever possible, model components with difficult to estimate parameters are avoided. Thus, a relatively fast and robust transferability of the model to other areas is made sure.

The spatial differentiation is realized in WaSiM by the division of the area into a grid using widely used ASCII formats. Thus, an optimal data exchange with many other models and software packages is ensured. Also, input data can be adjusted quickly and with little loss to the desired model resolution.

WaSiM is available for Windows and Linux or Unix systems. It is available for 32-bit and 64-bit versions of these operating systems and there are versions that take advantage of multi-core processors as well as of super computers by utilizing as much processors as are provided by using OpenMP and/or MPI technology

back top home

WaSiM-News

12/11/2016

new patch availabe:
WaSiM 9.10.01 -> More »

Third WaSiM User Conference in Munich, October 18-19 2017:
Announcement -> More »

Navigation: Home ›  Das Modell ›  Modellkonzept

Modellkonzept

WaSiM-ETH ist ein deterministisches, flächendifferenziert arbeitendes hydrologisches Einzugsgebietsmodell zur Simulation des Wasserkreislaufes über und unter der Landoberfläche.

Das Modell kann in verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalenbereichen eingesetzt werden. Es ist in der Lage, den hydrologischen Wasserkreislauf für Einzugsgebiete mit Grössen von < 1 km2 bis zu mehreren 10000 km2 zu berechnen, wobei detaillierte Simulationen für Standorte ebenfalls möglich sind. Die zeitlichen Auflösungen des Modells reichen von Minuten bis zu mehreren Tagen. WaSiM-ETH kann sowohl für Kurzfrist- (Hochwasserereignisse) als auch für Langfristsimulationen (langjährige Wasserhaushaltssimulationen) verwendet werden.

In Abhängigkeit von der allgemeinen Datenverfügbarkeit und der hydrologischen Aufgabenstellung gestattet WaSiM-ETH die optionale Auswahl von Algorithmen für die Simulation desselben Prozesses. Die minimalen Datenanforderungen an das Modell sind Zeitreihen von Niederschlag und Temperatur sowie Rasterdaten zur Topographie, der Landnutzung und den Bodeneigenschaften.

WaSiM-ETH verwendet für die gewählten Raum- und Zeitskalen möglichst physikalisch begründete Modellansätze. Es vermeidet, wo immer möglich, Modellkomponenten mit schwer abschätzbaren Parametern. Dadurch wird eine relativ schnelle aber auch robuste Übertragbarkeit des Modells auf andere Gebiete gewährleistet.

Die räumliche Differenzierung wird in WaSiM-ETH durch die Einteilung des Gebietes in ein Gitternetz (Grid) realisiert. Damit ist ein optimaler Datenaustausch mit vielen anderen Modellen und Software-Paketen gewährleistet. Auch können Eingangsdaten schnell und verlustarm an die gewünschte Modellauflösung angepasst werden.

WaSiM-ETH ist sowohl in einer Windows- als auch in einer Linux- oder Unix-Systemumgebung lauffähig.

back top home

WaSiM-News

11.12.2016

Neuer Patch verfügbar:
WaSiM 9.10.01 -> Mehr »

Dritte WaSiM User Conference in München, 18.-19. Oktober 2017:
Announcement -> More »